dragonxi The checkbox is used to select items and then perform actions on them. When you check the box, buttons for the available actions become visible.
The only available action for a selected application is deleting the app. There is no other reason to click the checkbox next to an application.
If you don't want to delete an application, then you have no reason to click its checkbox. If you have no reason to click the checkbox, then don't click it and you won't see the delete button.
When you do need to delete an app then click the checkbox, then click the delete button. A confirmation prompt will appear. The confirmation prompt will include the names of the selected applications. When you confirm, only the selected applications and the contents of their application directories are deleted. Databases, sites, etc will not be deleted.
I will pass your feedback along to the UI developer.